Hennie van Heerden's Wildlife Diary

May 29, 2010

My first cuckoo!

Filed under: May — Hennie van Heerden @ 12:02 pm

I started at first light and took another walk through the beautiful ‘Rottige Meente” area. No Bluethroats this time, but the sound of Cuckoos was everywhere. Another one on the wishlist!! But they were nowhere to be seen. I headed for the huge bird-watcher’s hide; a large structure on poles, overlooking a collection of wetlands. For watching it’s perfect, but for photography too far away. But I just sat there, relaxed and enjoyed the sunrise. Until… a cuckoo landed in the tree next to the hide!! Still far away, but as this is my first cuckoo shot, I was really excited to capture it!!

When we steered the Tembo back to Kampen where we had our dinner date, we passed a meadow where a Roe Deer Doe was grazing. Hans held the boat steady in the current, while I snapped away. But looking through the viewfinder I saw that something was terribly wrong with this animal. She was so skinny that the bones stuck out everywhere! I assume that either she had given birth just before (but that would have been really early in the year) or she had some sort of desease. She looked aweful!! I felt so sorry for her and I really really hope she’s ok.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

