Hennie van Heerden's Wildlife Diary

November 24, 2010

Rain..

Filed under: 2010,November — Hennie van Heerden @ 6:09 pm

Ok, I admit… I’m a whimp..
But when I woke up in the morning, massive thunderstorms poured down on Mala Mala soil. And my bed was so warm and comfortable!! So yes, I went out but only to warn Matt that I was going to sleep in 🙂

But.. it cleared up and right after breakfast we went out. It still was quiet out in the field but still managed some lovely shots…

One of the bird species I really wanted to capture was the Hoopoo but so far I never got a good shot. Like this one, also because of the dappled bright green background. The Jackals at the den up north were home and when I carefully crept out of the vehicle (hope MM management doesn’t read this! 🙂 one of the adults actually made his way towards me to check me out. Cool!!

I really love eye-level shots and this was all I could ask for. Great feeling to look this one straight into his eyes! But what they were doing in the second shot is beyond me. Well, at least the one to the left seemed to enjoy it 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

